Yin and Yang are the way of heaven and earth, the primary discipline of the universe, the mother and father of change, the root of birth and death, the god’s palace also. To cure disease one must seek out its root...
— Nei Jing: Su Wen, Chapter Four



Five-Element Acupuncture originates from Taoism, which expresses that all things are manifestations of the Tao (The Way).  To follow the Tao is to walk the path with awareness of natures ever-changing forces and phases and to see the eternal spirit within all living things.  Everything that is created and given life ultimately flows back into the Tao at it’s death.

To spring forth from the Tao, life must divide into two opposite yet complementary forces called Yin and Yang, this duality creates all within the universe.  Yin and Yang are eternally present and are combined and complement each other while representing the nature of all life. When Yin and Yang are in balance there can be no disease.

Photo by PeachLoveU/iStock / Getty Images

The Taoist's awareness of nature throughout the ages was intrinsic to the development of Five-Element Acupuncture. Their continuous examination and connection to nature emphasised that we are also a part of nature, therefore follow natural law.  The human body seen as a microcosm of the macrocosm (the Universe) has its own landscape and energetic patterns, which are connected by energy pathways called Meridians, similar to that of our planets deep river systems and channels.  Life Energy (Qi) is the life force that produces and preserves the living world. This Qi energy follows these specific pathways throughout the human body. When we are in balance we flow naturally, unhindered and uninterrupted.  When we slip out of balance our energy or life force becomes blocked or stagnated and our body, mind and spirit systems become unstable and distressed.

Photo by 4X-image/iStock / Getty Images

The tao that can be told is not the eternal Tao. The name that can be named is not the eternal Name. The unnamable is the eternally real. Naming is the origin of all particular things. Free from desire, you realize the mystery. Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations
— Lao Tzu


The Five Elements 


The Five Elements signify the cyclical transformation of all life from birth, growth, degeneration, death and rebirth. Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water symbolise the process of change and development in all living things, from the seasons to our bodies. 


Photo by jack-sooksan/iStock / Getty Images
Photo by valio84sl/iStock / Getty Images
Photo by Muenz/iStock / Getty Images
Photo by Smileus/iStock / Getty Images
Photo by Eerik/iStock / Getty Images

Man is the microcosm of the macrocosm; the God on earth is built on the pattern of the God in nature. But the universal consciousness of the real Ego transcends a million fold the self-consciousness of the personal false Ego.
— C.G. Jung